low e string

Welcome to a new 10-second tip.

Today, it’s a little tip about learning the fretboard.


If you want to improve your fretboard knowledge, and you’ve got a bit stuck with it in the past, I urge you to spend a little time each week slowly building up by doing this:

Start with the low E string and learn one note at a time


At first glance, the fretboard can be a daunting thing.

There are 6 strings.

Most guitars have 20 or more frets, meaning over 120 potential notes to learn.

So how do you learn the fretboard in a simple way?

As with most things on the guitar… in very small stages.

My advice is to begin by learning the notes on the low E string first.

…But not all the notes.


Instead, start learning the notes that are on the ‘marker’ dots.

These are on frets 3, 5, 7, 9, and 12 and they give you a great visual guide to the fretboard.

Start by ingraining these notes on the low E string:

G – fret 3

A – fret 5

B – fret 7

Start with the above and then after that, you have:

C# – fret 9

E – fret 12


Once you have those notes set in stone and locked into your brain as deeply as your other half’s birthday (don’t tell me you can’t remember that, haha)…

Then you can fill in the blanks with the other notes on this string.

…Because if you automatically know that the note on fret 3 is G… then the note on fret 4 must be G#.

But first, begin with the above.

That is a good basic starting point for learning the fretboard.


For more help with this sort of thing, you may want to check out my eBook bundle below.

It covers the above in much more detail, plus a whole lot more.

Guitar Domination Super eBook Bundle


I hope that was helpful and enjoy your Friday!

Dan Thorpe

Guitar Domination


P.S. This post was originally taken from Dan Thorpe’s private email list. To get blog posts like this sent to you which are full of great tips to make fingerpicking, strumming, and learning guitar more enjoyable (especially if you are over 40) join Dan’s list. It’s 100% free, HERE.

Add Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.